Archive for May 3rd, 2007

h1

Ten Nights of Distinction

May 3, 2007

Hopefully this will become something of a recurring feature. I’m gonna throw some concert dates up here for a couple reasons: 1) if I ever go missing while at a show, you’ll know which one I was at. You can start the subsequent investigation there. 2) You should come, too. Without further ado, here’s where I’m going to be on ten nights over the next several months, according to Pollstar and other sources:

5/6/07: Mute Math and Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin at Meridian
One of the best live bands I’ve ever seen with the worst-named band in history that are actually good(sorry, Cinderella). I’m gonna sweat a lot this night. Plus, there’ll be more wholesome emo girls than you can shake a stick at. Not that you would.

5/13/07 NothingMore at Minute Maid Park
Come for the rock, stay for the baseball. Or maybe vice versa. Depends on how well Hunter Pence is doing at that point.

6/7/07: The Hold Steady at Walter’s On Washington.
Somehow, a band whose CD made just about everyone’s top-10 last year managed to book a gig playing the diveiest mainstream venue in the whole city. This is actually perfect, since they’re a bar band, through and through. I honestly didn’t think I’d ever get the chance to see them at a venue this size.

6/14/07: Black Rebel Motorcycle Club at Meridian
I’m streaming the new album, Baby 81, right now. Not quite so roots-rocky as Howl, but a more mature sound. Should be a fantastic show. I’ve passed these guys up at least three times already, so it’s about time. Besides, I want to hear my ringtone live.

6/29/07 Two Tons of Steel at Firehouse Saloon
TWO TONS! Plus, this is the night of the Police concert downtown. I’d rather be around drunk cowboys than women swooning over Sting and people ceaselessly trying to remind me that the Police were the best. band. ever. Besides, I’ll be jet lagged from DC; Shiner Bock and Two Tons sounds like the perfect cure.

7/6/07 Clay Aiken, Hobby Center for the Performing Arts

7/26/07 This Will Destroy You at Meridian
So. Pumped. These guys are from San Marcos (really) and sound a lot like Explosions In The Sky, with that whole instrumental post-rock thing going on. If the EITS show was any indication, should translate well live. I still haven’t figured out how you’re supposed to rock out at a show where you can’t sing along, though. I’m totally leaving before the headliners, Fear Before The March Of Flames, out of protest for their lame tough-sounding name. TWDY gets a pass in this category because their name is actually true, in the best way possible.

Ok, so it’s six nights, not ten. But I’m anticipating the possibility of Wilco, The White Stripes, and Interpol, given that each of those bands has a new album coming out this summer/fall. Besides, I’d drive to Dallas/Austin/SA/NOLA to see any of those guys.