h1

Press Pass

August 2, 2007

The dog days of summer can lead to crippling introspection, and this summer has been no different. I’ve been pondering what I want to be when I grow up lately, and while I haven’t reached any firm conclusions, I’ve certainly got the scent of the trail.

Most of you who read this blog (if not all) know me personally and have been reading my ramblings since the Xanga days. I’ve heard from several of you over the years that I’m a good writer, but I didn’t (and don’t, still) believe it. Flannery O’Connor is a good writer. C.S. Lewis is a good writer. P.J. O’Rourke is a good writer. P.G. Woodehouse is a good writer. Hell, Ezra Dyer is a good writer. I’m a hack with a blog. But I have taken to believing some of the hype.

Anyway, as part of the whole hype-believing thing has gotten off the ground, my job has been floundering, mired in uncertainty. I’ve been searching for a way to bring those two concerns together. The first step is what I’m here writing about now. Last week, Houstonist, a local lifestyle/news blog put out a call for sports writers. I’m not Bill Simmons or Rick Reilly or (shudder) Peter King, but I can rail and wail like a fan like nobody’s business. I applied, and got the job. And by job I mean “volunteer writer position that takes a remarkable amount of time”.

My first article ran on Tuesday, and I’m committed to 2 posts a week over there. In a even more head-spinning development, I’ve already been promoted. I’m the sports editor now, which means…um, I think it means that I’m required to buy beer for the other sports writers when we meet. There’s a link to my article page on the right hand side of this blog from now on. Go read Houstonist anyway, though; they’re good folks out to show people that this city is a lot more fun than it looks like from the freeways and suburbs.

The nuts and bolts here is that I now have semi-formal writing experience under my belt, which will look nice if I ever want to get paid to write. Now I have to build the confidence that’s required to put myself (and my considerable ego) at risk by selling my work to other publications. I’ll keep y’all posted.

4 comments

  1. holy crack batman! i read that article and didn’t know you wrote it. Way to go!


  2. I’m glad you’re able to tag this post under “Life is good” =)


  3. * loud cheering *


  4. here’s an interesting blog looking for writers, idk if you’re busy enough with what you got. cheers.

    http://www.damninteresting.com/?p=878



Leave a Reply

