h1

Almonds and other road hazards

February 26, 2007

I don’t have anything significant to say today, just a string of random thoughts without any connective tissue.

– Driving my car is one of the best sources of stress relief that I know. Saturday morning’s road rally with the good folks of HMMS was a perfect tonic for a long, crazy week (bad weather notwithstanding). I know I’m not a talented driver; I’ll never be on the cover of an Xbox rally racing game, but I can fake it from time to time. To spend several hours with little on your mind but gears, lines, and draft braking is definitely my idea of a good time. Plus, the aftermarket floodgates are about open. Within a couple of years, I hope to have remade Vesper into a lean, mean, autocrossing machine.

– I made a Sesame Street joke this weekend, and was subsequently asked how long it’d been since I’d watched the show. The answer is probably close to 20 years. Wow.

– I’ll be blogging later this week about my Lent reasons and experiences so far. Suffice to say that while I’d hardly be considered an alcoholic, I drink a lot more than I thought I did.

– I think that An Inconvenient Truth should be renamed the Passion Of The Gore. Watching the way everyone was loving on Al Gore at the Oscars last night was worse than what happens when a new girl shows up to Monday nights at the Saucer. Everyone was falling all over themselves to call him a great man and yadda yadda I think I’m actually getting ill just remembering it.

– On the heels of the rapturous post that I made about hanging out with the guys from Ethan Durelle, I’ve realized that I’m going to miss both of the Houston area concerts they’ve got scheduled for the next month or so. Supposedly I’ve got to “work” or something instead. It’s not as though I imagine the band hanging around before the show, nervously checking their watches, waiting for me to walk through the door, but I am disappointed that I won’t be there. Oh well.

– In one for the “be careful when you think you stand”, I’ve been assaulted with various temptations and discouragements in the days since my “wow, I’m optimistic again” post. Gee, who didn’t see that coming? The optimism is still intact.

– I was told this week that my blog may be too “edgy” for the tastes of any women that I might be interested in dating. I don’t have a joke here, I just wanted to share.

– Finally, one picture from the road rally. Sure, it’s off center and all that, but it’s the best I could do at a stoplight with my seatbelt on.

Classic. Texas.

4 comments

  1. You were up by my old stomping grounds?


  2. Is your blog too edgy, or are your women too weak?


  3. I think you meant to say, “when a new WAITRESS shows up at the Saucer”


  4. I could agree with you, Mich, but I don’t know. There have been many a night where the guys out numbered the girls at the table by any to zero, so any girl who shows up, especially for the first time, is sure to be appreciated.



Leave a Reply

