h1

Let It What?

February 1, 2007

Not only have I lived in Houston for the great majority of my life (my three year stint in College Station is growing smaller in my rear view mirror, and encompasses a much smaller percentage of my years than it used to), but I haven’t traveled nearly as much as most of my friends have.  Most of the travel that I have done has been during the warm weather months, when it makes most sense to flee screaming from Houston’s humidity and mosquito infested summer cauldron.  For whatever reason, my family opted not to travel during the winter, when Houston is actually quite nice.  The end result is that my exposure to cold winter weather is extremely limited.

Sure, I’ve seen snow before, and I’ve been in weather colder than 20 degrees before, but I’ve never driven in real, hazardous snow, and I certainly haven’t been called upon to do so in the interest of my job.  (One of the few things that I miss about PreCheck: having Florida in my sales territory.)  As I wait here in the airport in Oklahoma City, I can’t help but think that I’ve finally had an experience which many of my compadres has already had, and I have no idea why I felt that I was missing out on something.  Driving in snow isn’t fun.  It’s not all goofy harmless sliding and sticking your tongue out the window.  It gets old reaaaaally fast.

Today I drove from OKC to Tulsa and back so that I could visit a trio of hospitals.  About 45 minutes outside Tulsa, the snow started, and it would not abate until I was almost back to OKC again.  The snow eventually gave way to slush, and the slush gave way to numerous vehicles in ditches.  I thought that I’d have a leisurely trip back; between a 45 minute delay on 44 and the necessity of refueling my rental car, I found myself doing the 200 yd. Terminal Dash tonight.  Of course, the flight is delayed, because of the weather.  At least I had U2 and Cold War Kids to keep me company.

Why did I think I was missing something?

6 comments

  1. Amen, brother. Now you know why I so happily say “I weren’t born here, but I got here as quick as I could.”


  2. I am already so over snow. so!


  3. Maybe that’s the point- it gets old fast. But in reality, that means you should drive slow-er. I’ve been in Alaska for 3 weeks now, and we’ve had a virtual heat wave (the temp was 51! today), and now the road is clear and everyone (really) wishes it would snow again. I know it’s crazy, but it’s true. But then there is a big difference between snow in Alaska where they expect it (nay- need it) and OKC (and H-town) where they don’t know what to do with it, so I understand where you are coming from.


  4. snow sucks… that is all.


  5. All I know is that U2 kept you company. Yay for U2!


  6. I tagged you on my site- partly to get you to write something, and yet partly because it would be interesting…



Leave a Reply

